City Hall Sights in San Francisco

For part of the time I was in San Francisco in July, I was on my own while my son toiled at work (or whatever he does there). One of the places I decided to visit and photograph was SF’s gorgeous City Hall, a Beaux-Arts structure that has been reinforced since the 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake. It’s a fantastically beautiful building, full of grand staircases and marble. Although I had my D600 with me, let’s start with an iPhone photo shot with Hipstamatic to set the mood.

San Francisco City Hall

Well, the writing speaks for itself. Captioned in Over.

Inside, I used the iPhone once more (same settings in Hipstamatic), then put it away.

San Francisco City Hall, Hipstamatic, iPhone

A shot of part of the ceilings inside – glorious.

Without a tripod to steady my shots, I set the D600′s vibration reduction switch to “on” and cranked up the ISO. (In retrospect I should have set it even higher than I did; I was using my excellent 24-120mm f/4 lens but many of the shots are soft :( . . . . ) The architecture is outstanding but I also loved seeing the folks who were there to be married, check out the big staircase, or just attend to business.

Explore posts in the same categories: architecture, photography, Travel

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “City Hall Sights in San Francisco”

  1. David Says:

    Its a wonderful building to photograph, especially to spy on weddings :-)

  2. Melissa Says:

    Actually I did see two weddings while I was there – very sweet. Took no photos. Loved being there.


  3. Wow, what a building! Interesting pollarded trees in quincunx pattern in front. And thanks for all the camera tips.

    Can Hipstamatic be downloaded to a desktop and used with images taken with a camera? (I don’t have a smartphone — I know, pitiful.) I looked on their website, but it seems to assume that you arrive knowing all about them already.

    Or can you recommend software for a Mac that does about what Instagram or Hipstamatic do?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 206 other followers

