Looking Back, Moving Forward

Double snowdrops

I’ve been thinking a lot today about the end of this decade (the literary pundits are agonizing over what to call it – the “aughts”?). Ten years ago I lived in a family of four, had fewer grey hairs, and was a stay at home mom who had just discovered gardening and was thinking about learning to design gardens. Photography meant pulling out a compact film camera on vacations. I assumed my life track was set for good.

What a difference a decade makes. Despite some blips on the radar, I have few regrets and many  life changes for which to be grateful. OK, I don’t like being an empty nester. But I will always be grateful for my mid-life transformation from lawyer to landscape designer, stretching my creative side. And even more grateful and excited at the new sights that have greeted my eyes as I work as a photographer, whether in gardens or outside them (more of that to come next year).

Snowdrops (Galanthus nivalis ‘Flore Pleno’, the double form shown above) have always seemed to me to be symbols of hope and rebirth. They appear before almost any other bulb in spring. So as 2009 leaves us and we look forward to the new decade – which on a global basis will hopefully be an improvement on the last ten years – I wish you the very best for a wonderful new year. Thanks for visiting, and I hope you will come back often.

Explore posts in the same categories: General

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

