Catching The Wave

About five years ago, I took a busman’s holiday in August while my sons were out hiking with their father in Kauai. My own garden looked dreadful – typical for Washington in late summer.

Wanting to explore some gardens in the Hudson River Valley, which I’d never visited before, I constructed a driving itinerary that started in Hyde Park, NY and included stops at Opus 40, Stonecrop Gardens, Innisfree Garden, and Wave Hill Garden. The other day, my friend Lori asked me if I’d ever visited Wave Hill, and I remembered this trip so I decided to re-visit my photos from that little odyssey, starting with my last stop, in the Bronx.

WAVE   HILL  GARDEN

(Click on each photo for larger version)

Perched on a hill overlooking the Hudson River and the Palisades, Wave Hill consists of 28 acres of gardens, greenhouses and woodlands open to the public since 1965, five years after the Perkins-Freeman family deeded the property to the City of New York. Much of its stunning visual appeal can be attributed to the stewardship of Marco Polo Stufano, Wave Hill’s first Director of Horticulture, whose guidance transformed the site from neglected to spectacular and whose cutting-edge vision and gifts for combining colors, textures and forms still informs the garden’s varied borders and planting designs.

From the Pergola Overlook, full of seasonal plantings in containers that change frequently, to the Aquatic Garden – at its best in late summer and fall – to the Wild and Flower Gardens and beyond, there is eye-arresting beauty and information for every level of gardener to absorb and reflect on. This is a treasure for everyone, and shouldn’t be missed if you’re visiting or living in the New York area.

Wave Hill is open Tuesdays through Sundays year-round and certain holiday Mondays. Closed New Year’s Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas. For more information, visit its website.

Technical Notes: All of these images were shot with my first serious digital camera, a Nikon D100. These days I’m thinking of converting it to an infrared camera because it’s so outdated compared to my D300. But when I sat down the other night to look at these photos in order to post them here, I was surprised at how well they have held up.  OK, maybe it’s due at least in part to obeying the mantra, “Use a tripod, use a tripod.” But whatever the reason, the photography gods were smiling that day; it was overcast and calm even though I couldn’t get in until 9 am when the garden opened. (Confession: the one pergola photo with a blue sky has had some Photoshop magic worked on it so I could turn it into a notecard.)

See the other Hudson River Valley posts:
Opus 40
Innisfree
Stonecrop Gardens

Explore posts in the same categories: landscape, photography, Travel

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Catching The Wave”

  1. Lori Timan Says:

    hi Melissa – thank you for sharing your beautiful pictures of Wave Hill. It is indeed a special and inspiring place, and your pictures truly reflect that.

  2. Desiree Says:

    Gorgeous photos!


  3. Wonderful post! I have only visited Wave Hill once … what gorgeous enchanting gardens. I just discovered your blog over at blotanical… so glad! No matter the camera … your photos are stunning. Thanks for reminding me of this special garden. I had visited it at a different time of year, so your photos add a new dimension to my memories. Carol


Leave a Reply

