A Temporary Respite from Snowmaggedon

As noted in my post early this morning, there is no power in my house (and hasn’t been since Friday night).  Here in the DC suburbs, we are in the grips of  “Snowmaggedon.”

This morning, after uploading the Plant Combinations post via iPhone from my bed, under four comforters, I forced myself up and wrapped my already fully-clothed self in a shapeless but heavy terrycloth robe. In the kitchen, I could see my breath. Time to leave the house, I decided.

I will not bore you with the details. I am writing this from the comfort of a Hilton GARDEN Inn (I thought the name was appropriate, but more importantly, they had rooms available when I called) a couple of miles from my cold, now deserted house. Before I left I took some photos with my iPhone and Canon G11. Then I walked into downtown Bethesda and took some other photos, some of snow and some just colorful snaps to cheer myself up. Here they are, in no particular order.

I promise to return to garden designer/photographer mode soon, but for now I am just glad to be warm again. They’re predicting another round on Tuesday – spare me!

Explore posts in the same categories: General, photography

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “A Temporary Respite from Snowmaggedon”

  1. Bernie Says:

    Wow … it’s drastic when you have to leave your home to stay warm! Hope it doesn’t last too long … such an inconvenience! Lovely photos though.

  2. Edith Hope Says:

    Dear Melissa, I do very much hope that all will be well for you soon. Stay cheerful!

  3. gardeningasylum Says:

    I love that you’ve found refuge at the Hilton “Garden” 🙂 Good luck digging out!


  4. Oh Melissa, do keep warm! There is less snow up here in the frozen North!
    Deborah

  5. Melissa Says:

    Thanks for all the good wishes! No happy news from the electric company yet, but with so many people out of power it’s bound to take a while. Nice to know I have friends whose kind thoughts keep me warm.

  6. Elizabeth Reed Says:

    similar snow dumping here in Pittsburgh, Melissa. Apart from the rivulet of melting snow INSIDE my house where the gutters are piled high with snow and ice, and seeping through somwhere, I’ve been lucky.

    Thanks for the beautiful shots. Love the sunflowers,
    especially

    Natures pruning has downed branches everywhere. Lots
    of proof of how proper pruning helps trees lighten the load at times like this!
    Stay warm!

    • Melissa Says:

      Update – just got home around lunchtime and am praying the next batch of snow spares the electricity outages! Your comment about branches strikes home – I have a gorgeous crabapple tree I’ve written about. It’s shown in one of the gallery photos above. Unfortunately about an hour or two after that photo was taken one of the larger branches cracked at a joint. It hasn’t completely split off yet and I hope to get it pruned off before it hits the bank of skimmia growing so happily underneath. I had no clue this was coming – just old age, I guess. Very sad. I will post a photo later under ‘Other photos.’


  7. Oh boy….I am glad you found somewhere warm to stay. It is hard to believe how much snow you are receiving. Your stay in a hotel to stay warm reminds me of the time we our air-conditioner broke in August and we had to stay in a hotel until it got fixed (it was 108 outside).

    • Melissa Says:

      I’ve done that too, although I can last longer in heat than cold. As I wrote above – I’m back home now and glad to be here, with fingers crossed about the next batch of snow apparently headed our way. Thanks for the kind wishes!

  8. Daricia Says:

    beautiful photos! thanks for the message on blotanical – i’m glad to know about your blog. i’ve subscribed. 🙂


  9. Think, “Inner fire, inner fire…” 🙂


Leave a Reply

