Worth Quoting

As a garden photographer, I like to believe in the adage that a picture is worth a thousand words. Sometimes, however – just sometimes – I discover I can be proven wrong.

My “real job” is heating up as the snow melts, so beginning with this coming weekend I will have to cut back to one post a week. But one of the many hats I wear in the landscape design firm where I work is newsletter editor. Every issue  I try to include a quotation about gardens, or seasons, or plants. Sometimes they are well-known (like Pope’s “genius of the place” phrase). But I especially love finding gardening-related quotations I’ve never come across before, that resonate and make me smile. Here are a few I especially like, paired with photographs that seem to match. Hope you enjoy them. And let me know if you have a good quote to share.

Crocus, spring

First a howling blizzard woke us,
Then the rain came down to soak us,
And now before the eye can focus –
Crocus.

– Lilja Rogers


Alchemilla mollisApril prepares her green traffic light  and the world thinks Go.
– Christopher Morley, John Mistletoe




Rose, Rosa 'Aloha'

As sense-bludgeoning as a rose.
– Diane Ackerman, A Natural History of the Senses

Explore posts in the same categories: photography

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

13 Comments on “Worth Quoting”

  1. Edith Hope Says:

    Dear Melissa, I had not come across any of the quotations which you have used before now so have found this posting especially interesting.

    As always your carefully chosen images match perfectly what you are saying. Although your postings may now be reduced in number as the season gets under way, I shall continue to look forward to them.


  2. Melissa, I will miss your posting on a more frequent basis, but I totally understand, garden season is busy for all of us.
    Love the quotes matched to the pictures, an wonderful job as always.
    Deborah

  3. Melissa Says:

    Edith and Deborah,
    Thanks for the kind words. When I picked the photos to go with the quotes, I was surprised to realize that each one is predominantly one color – almost all the primaries, with the rose standing in for red. I will miss the more frequent postings myself but I knew this day would come when I first started the blog. So look for new posts on Sundays (or late Sat. nights) and in between I will keep up with my blogging friends, like you, on your own sites!

  4. Fran McClure Says:

    Melissa,

    I loved the quotes and would like to see your other finds. You may know this one, one I often use to close garden talks to clubs, etc: ‘It is not graceful and it makes one hot, but it is a blessed sort of work, and if Eve had had a spade in Paradise, and known what to do with it, we should not have had all that sad business with the apple.’

    Countess von Arnim

  5. 33barefootlane Says:

    I absolutely love the texture in your photos, and the lovely verse.
    Cheryl


  6. Love the photos you chose for the quotes, or vice-versa;-)

    • Melissa Says:

      Jan, it is kind of a chicken-and-egg thing, isn’t it? The crocus quote immediately brought to mind the photo with it, one I had taken in a client’s garden. For the April quote, I came across it while working on a client’s garden book, and immediately thought of it for the “Spring” chapter page – and the lady’s mantle photo was one of my favorites for that season from that garden. The rose photo was the only one I had to do some picking and choosing for. Thanks for taking the time to write!

  7. Tatyana Says:

    Love both, the quotes and the beautiful pictures!

  8. Britt Conley Says:

    I love the Crocus image! I have a similar one up as well but your’s is much better! So thrilled to hear the landscaping is heating up. I was going to ask you about that. I assume the bad winter is going to be a gold mind for landscapers! Happy Spring Melissa! You got grab it!

    • Melissa Says:

      Yes, our phones are starting to ring and repairs for our regular clients are at the top of our to-do list. Overall, though, the industry is still recovering from the recession so we are happy for whatever business comes our way! Looking forward to your favorite photo post.


Leave a Reply

