Up and Running in the Ethernet

One of the various hats I wear at my company, Landscape Projects, is that of website maven. I say “maven” because although I designed our previous website, I’m not a website designer by training and couldn’t tell you the first thing about writing code. I just love photographing gardens so producing the photos for our new website – and working with our designer at Echo Communications – was where I came in when we concluded the site was due for a major overhaul.

The site went live about a week ago. It’s image-heavy, with less text, but I think that’s a good thing in our business. Take a look by clicking the image below, and let me know what you think. Thanks for visiting.

Landscape Projects, Inc., Bethesda MD

The home page for our new web site. The main photograph changes every four or five seconds.

Explore posts in the same categories: landscape, photography

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “Up and Running in the Ethernet”


  1. Beautiful! I think you made the right choice not having a lot of text. Well done.

    • Melissa Says:

      Thanks. We hope eventually to add some text on some of the pages, especially in the portfolio section, but just minimal captions. It took a long time to get to this point!

  2. Liz Reed Says:

    These are fabulous shots, Melissa. I find it sooo difficult to get good shots of gardens, but when i do, it teaches so much about garden design. A camera has a way re-editing visual information with less subjectivity, that can sometimes be humbling!

    So much thoughtful work you’ve put into these images!

    Thanks for the post

  3. Liz Reed Says:

    BTW, I like the softness in your current banner. Photoshop filter? Instagram?

    • Melissa Says:

      Liz, thanks so much for the kind words. Of course I have included almost exclusively only photos that I think “cut the mustard” – although in putting the site together it showed us holes in our portfolio that I hope to take care of before the year is out (my design work permitting). As to the banner, I think that I used a Photoshop ‘watercolor’ filter or something similar on the iris image – glad you like it!

  4. Julie Friedman Says:

    Melissa – As always, your photos are gorgeous and inspiring! I love the additional photos and the ease of finding them. I think minimal text is the way to go, however I think having bios and photos of the principals at LPI is helpful and somehow comforting to a prospective client. Thanks for sharing and I will continue to visit the site to see what other beautiful landscapes you have created and documented!

    • Melissa Says:

      Julie, you raise an excellent point – one which we discussed at some length in redesigning the website. The question we wrestled with primarily was “who are the principals?” Our last website had detailed bios of virtually everyone who works in leadership roles – it took up two pages and we decided it was overkill. I think, however, it is an area we probably can and will revisit. After almost four months of work on the design, which we wanted as streamlined as possible, we were eager to get the site up, but we can make changes to it down the line and this may be one of the first areas we re-examine. Thanks for your thoughtful comments.

  5. Bill Rutledge Says:

    I love your new website – well done!

  6. willisjww Says:

    Melissa, it all looks wonderful. All the landscape design that we could ever aspire to and never afford… 🙂

    So I will continue to think of myself as a plant collector and the design part will driven by nature and occasional good luck … — jw


Leave a Reply

