Up the Down Staircase(s) in San Francisco

Since today as I write it’s snowing like crazy here, I decided it was time to return to my recently-developed interest in photographing buildings. Staircases in particular. For example, on a recent field trip to photograph churches in Baltimore, one of the most interesting shots I came across was this one.

Backus house, staircases, First and Franklin Presbyterian Church

Staircase at the Backus House, part of the First and Franklin Presbyterian Church in Baltimore

Staircases can be beautifully curved and wooden, like this one. But it was on my trip to San Francisco this summer that I first had a chance to see and photograph staircases to my heart’s content.  Before my trip, I researched architectural sights I shouldn’t miss, and thanks to Thomas Hawks’s website, came across lots of inspiration. Some were in public view, others required a bit of fancy footwork to see and photograph. I’ve turned some of these images into notecards, fascinated by the shapes and tonalities (makes a change from the garden notecards I usually print, as well).

I hope to return this coming year, maybe even with a tripod.

Explore posts in the same categories: architecture, photography, Travel

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Up the Down Staircase(s) in San Francisco”

  1. Lauren Pacini Says:

    Beautiful work, Melissa! I really, really like it!

    • Melissa Says:

      Lauren, thank you so much for the kind words. I’m enjoying expanding my horizons in photography so appreciate the encouragement. And I loved exploring your site and will be back to see more.


Leave a Reply

