Looking Back, Moving Forward

One of my first posts on this blog had the same title as today’s. Something about the arrival of a new year prompts me to think about what I want the months ahead to bring, and this year is no different.

I started this blog almost exactly seven years ago, originally posting twice a week. Most recently, I’ve posted twice a month with time off for holidays, travel and (once) a broken hand. I’ve enjoyed sharing my thoughts and photographs with the outside world, but I’ve decided it’s time to give Garden Shoots an indefinite hiatus. I’m no longer as intimate a part of the gardening world as I used to be, and it’s been a challenge in the last year or two to come up with topics for posts that I think will appeal to my audience of friends and occasional readers.

Thank you to everyone who has read my posts, especially those who’ve taken the time to comment. I’m not disappearing forever from the blogosphere, just taking time off from regular posting. Look for the occasional article when I visit new places, especially if they’re garden-related. For those of you who may be interested in my photography business, you can always find me on Facebook. And below, I hope you enjoy a favorite photo of mine from Tuscany this past May – not a garden, but a beautiful landscape vista.

Launching and maintaining Garden Shoots has been a wonderful experience. Thanks again to everyone who was along for the ride!

Melissa

Val d'Orcia, Tuscany

Vineyard at Dawn, Val d’Orcia

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: General, photography

7 Comments on “Looking Back, Moving Forward”

  1. Lucia Says:

    You have inspired greatly me with your thoughtful images. I will certainly look forward to finding you in Facebook. Have an extraordinary 2016!!! Lucia

  2. Pam Parker Says:

    Melissa,

    Thank you for leaving us with a most remarkable photograph. I will look for your work in the future.

    • Melissa Says:

      Pam, thank you for your kind words. This photo is one of my favorites from a trip to Tuscany last May. Next your, more travels, beginning with Myanmar in February, so there will some photos to share when I return, probably on Facebook.

  3. CATHY CARR Says:

    Hey, Melissa. I will miss your blog posts (how can it be seven years!) and LOVE that photo from Val D’Orcia. I’d like to buy a copy for my dear friend Michelle who has a big birthday coming up this August, if that’s possible. I’m away for another day or two and we have plenty of time to discuss possibilities.

    I also want to work out a way to make sure I have you take garden photos when the gardens look their best. I have two clients (Zinke and Cataldo) who have already agreed to spring shoots and there are a couple of new gardens (Fullerton, (and Martin?), Rutland Trust, Baumgardner/Duellman) that may (or may not) be too new to photograph. Actually, there are probably more opportunities, now that I think about it, but maintenance is the thing. Perhaps we sketch out some sort of retainer/schedule??

    Cathy

    >

    • Melissa Says:

      Cathy, I’ll get back to you via e-mail on all of this. Thank you so much for the kind words, and of course I’ll be happy to make a print for your friend! (My sister has one of this scene in her new house :))


Leave a Reply

